Introduction

Introduction

Speakers of Lama in northern Togo refer to their language and themselves as Lama (Lamʋ, singular). Outsiders often call them Lamba. (The -mba suffix denotes ‘people plural’ when a noun ends in a nasal.) Some early linguists referred to the Lama people and language as Losso, but this term more likely refers to the Nawdba, who live south of the Lama region. According to Ethnologue, there are about 260,000 total speakers (2006-2012).1

The Lama language is classified under the Grusi, Eastern cluster of the Gur (or Voltaique) group of the Niger-Congo languages. The Lama speak three different dialects, centered in the towns of Kande (Kandé, Kante, Kantè), Défalé, and Kadjalla. Read more about the Lama here: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lamba_people.

The town of Kande is located 465 kilometers (289 miles) north of Lomé, the capital of Togo, on the international nouth-sorth highway. This town is the seat of the prefecture of Kéran, the northernmost prefecture in the Kara Region. Seven of the nine cantons in the Kéran are Lama-speaking: Kande, Atalotè, Pessidè, Tamberma-Ouest (Nadoba), Hélota, Akpontè and Ossacré.

According to Lama elders, the Lama came to Kande via Défalé, a village located 15 kilometers southeast of Kande, searching for new land. Little by little, they expanded their territory toward the west to Ataloté up to Ossacré, at 45 kilometers west of Kande, by pushing out the previous occupants.

The Lama are mainly subsistence farmers and live in family groups encircled by their fields. Those who live in towns or villages walk to their fields. Other occupations in the towns include tailors and seamstresses, mechanics, chauffeurs, hospital workers, teachers, government workers, barbers, clergy, merchants, and blacksmiths.

Missionary and linguist André Prost2 (1903–1987) wrote a grammar article on Lama in 1963.3 A primer was produced for catechists in 1971. Also, between 1970 and 1973, the Catholic priest Mattieu Beraud translated several selections of the Bible with prayers and songs for mass. The Catholics realized that the alphabet they used for Lama was insufficient in symbols, but they did not have the means to represent them. The work of SIL International among the Lama began in February 1972 with the arrival of (Richard) Neal Brinneman. In August 1979 his wife, Carol, joined the work.

Numerous reading books, including primers, for purposes of literacy advancement were published between 1980 and the present. The New Testament in Lama was launched in May 1994. Translation of the Old Testament is ongoing by a team of three Lama men and is expected to be completed around 2019.

Now in 2016, Neal and Carol Brinneman reside in Waxhaw, North Carolina (neal_brinneman@sil.org). They acknowledge the gracious and indispensable assistance of numerous Lama men over 40-some years in the compilation of this trilingual dictionary.

______________________

1https://www.ethnologue.com/17/language/las/

2Prost was a member of the Missionaires d’Afrique (Pères Blancs), of the Société d’Africanistes, and member-founder of the Société des Linguistes de l’Afrique Occidentale.

3Prost, André. Le lamba (Togo), Documents linguistiques, no. 5, 80 p. BGHV no. 757. 1963.

Introduction

Introduction

Les locuteurs de la langue lama dans le nord du Togo se réfèrent à leur langue et à eux-mêmes comme Lama (Lamʋ, au singulier). Ceux de l’extérieur les appellent Lamba. (Le suffixe -mba désigne «les gens au pluriel» quand un nom se termine par une nasale.) Certains des premiers linguistes ont appelé le peuple Lamba et la langue comme Losso, mais Losso désigne plus probablement les Nawdba, qui vivent au sud de la région Lama. Selon Ethnologue, il y a environ 260.000 locuteurs lama (2006-2012).1

La langue Lama est classée sous le groupe Grusi, du groupe est de Gur (ou Voltaïque) des langues Niger-Congo. Les Lama parlent trois dialectes différents, centrés dans les villes de Kandé (Kande, Kante, Kantè), Défalé, et Kadjalla. Pour en  savoir plus, consulter: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lamba_people.

La ville de Kandé est située 465 kilomètres (289 miles) au nord de Lomé, la capitale du Togo, sur la route internationale nord-sud. Cette ville est le siège de la préfecture de la Kéran, dans la partie septentrionale de la région de la Kara. Sept cantons sur les  neuf cantons de la Kéran parlent lama. Ce sont Kandé, Atalotè, Pessidè, Tamberma-Ouest (Nadoba), Hélota, Akpontè et Ossacré.

Selon les vieux lama, les Lama sont venus à Kandé via Défalé, un village situé à 15 kilomètres au sud-est de Kandé, à la recherche de nouvelles terres. Peu à peu, ils ont élargi leur territoire vers l'ouest à Ataloté jusqu'à Ossacré, à 45 kilomètres à l'ouest de Kandé, en poussant les précédents occupants.

Les Lama pratiquent principalement une agriculture de subsistance et vivent en groupes familiaux entourés de leurs champs. Ceux qui vivent dans les villes ou les villages vont à pied à leurs champs. Autres professions exercées dans les villes comprennent les tailleurs et les couturières, les mécaniciens, les chauffeurs, les infirmiers, les enseignants, les fonctionnaires d'Etat, les coiffeurs, le clergé, les marchands et les forgerons.

Le missionnaire et linguiste André Prost2 (1903–1987) a écrit un article de grammaire sur lama en 19633. Un abécédaire a été produit pour catéchistes en 1971. Entre 1970 et 1973, le prêtre catholique Mattieu Beraud a traduit plusieurs portions sélectionnées de la Bible avec des prières et des chants pour la messe. Les catholiques se sont rendu compte que l'alphabet qu'ils utilisaient pour lama était insuffisant en symboles, mais ils ne disposaient pas des moyens pour les représenter. Le travail de SIL International parmi les Lama a commencé en février 1972 avec l'arrivée de (Richard) Neal Brinneman. En août 1979 sa femme, Carol, a rejoint le travail.

De nombreux livres de lecture, y compris des abécédaires, à des fins de promotion de l'alphabétisation étaient publiés entre 1972 et aujourd’hui. Le Nouveau Testament en Lama a été lancé en mai 1994. La traduction de l'Ancien Testament est en cours par une équipe de trois Lama et devrait être achevée vers 2019.

Présentement, en 2016, Neal et Carol Brinneman résident à Waxhaw, en Caroline du Nord (neal_brinneman@sil.org). Ils reconnaissent l'assistance gracieuse et indispensable de nombreux hommes lama depuis plus de 40 ans dans l'élaboration de ce dictionnaire trilingue.

______________________

1https://www.ethnologue.com/17/language/las/

2Prost était un membre des Missionaires d'Afrique (Pères Blancs), de la Société d'Africanistes, et membre-fondateur de la Société des Linguistes de l'Afrique Occidentale. 

3Prost, André. Le lamba (Togo), Documents linguistiques, no. 5, 80 p. BGHV no. 757. 1963